# GOVERNANCE CITY COUNCIL COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES MONDAY, DECEMBER 15, 2021, at 10:00 AM CITY COUNCIL BRIEFING ROOM IN CITY HALL

<b>Members Present:</b>	Mayor Ron Nirenberg, Chair				
	Councilmember Adriana Rocha Garcia, District 4				
	Councilmember Melissa Cabello Havrda, District 6				
	Councilmember Manny Pelaez, <i>District 8</i>				
	Councilmember John Courage, District 9				
Members Absent:	None				

#### **CALL TO ORDER**

Mayor Nirenberg called the meeting to order at 10:10 AM.

1. Approval of the minutes from the City Council Governance Committee Meeting on November 17, 2021.

Councilmember Rocha Garcia moved to approve the minutes from the November 17, 2021 Governance Committee Meeting. Councilmember Courage seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

# **Briefing and Possible Action on**

2. Consideration of Applicants to the San Antonio Housing Trust. [Debbie Racca-Sittre, Interim City Clerk]

Mayor Nirenberg introduced the item and explained that there were 6 open positions for community members to the San Antonio Housing Trust with 3 representatives being considered Housing Industry Experts and 3 Representatives of the Community (Community Representatives) who had housing advocacy or policy experience or resided in affordable housing unit. A total of 36 applications were received by the City Clerk and 16 of those applicants were shortlisted to be interviewed.

Mayor Nirenberg noted that three shortlisted applicants withdrew their applications: Brian Jarvis, Patrick Sheerer and Cynthia Spielman. Mayor Nirenberg also noted that three applicants had scheduling conflicts with today's meeting and provided written statements instead of attending the interviews. The following individuals provided written statements and were considered: Molly Cox (Community Representative), Paul DeManche (Housing Expert), and Ronald Ruggiero (Housing Expert).

The following individuals each provided a two-minute opening statement and were interviewed by the Committee.

Housing Industry Experts: Richard Acosta, Antoinette Brumfield, Marinella Murillo, Jane Paccione, and Gabriel Velasquez.

Community Representatives: Eric Cooper, Monica Cruz, Jordan Ghawi, Rachell Hathaway and Shareen Radusca.

## **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Mayor Nirenberg recessed the meeting into Executive Session at 12:02 PM to discuss the appointment of San Antonio Housing Trust members pursuant to Texas Government Code Section 551.074 (personnel matters), and discuss related legal issues, pursuant to Texas Government Code Section 551.071 (consultation with attorney).

Mayor Nirenberg reconvened the meeting into Open Session at 12:26 PM.

Councilmember Rocha Garcia moved that Antoinette Brumfield in the Housing Expert Category, and Eric Cooper and Jane Paccione in the Community Representative Category be recommended to serve for a term ending May 31, 2023 on the San Antonio Housing Trust, and that Marinella Murillo and Rachell Hathaway in the Housing Expert Category, and Jordan Ghawi in the Community Representative Category in the Housing Expert Category be recommended to serve a term ending May 31, 2025 on the San Antonio Housing Trust and for the recommendations to be considered by City Council at its January 13, 2021 A Session meeting. Motion was seconded by Councilmember Cabello Havrda. The Motion passed unanimously.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

TC1 1		C 41 1	•	1.1	AT' 1	1.	1.	41 41	4 1	12 20 1	D X I
i nere	neing no	Turther dis	cussion.	IVIAVOT	- Nirenb	erg adı	iournea i	the meeting	at i	12:28	PIVI.

ATTEST:	
	Ron Nirenberg, Mayor
Debbie Racca-Sittre Interim City Clerk	